4/17/16

 It is time. For the final step.

Last time I wrote with icing, my dad told me to practice it on a plate first before proceeding to the actual pastry, which is the best tip a baker could receive, if they’re going to design cakes everyday. Why? Today, after one fat “Happy” on an everyday plate…I had to go to the store to find something skinnier. Then, I saw that they had one of those caps that made the icing smaller, so I bought a set of those instead, since my mom told me we didn’t have any. As soon as I returned home, I applied the shrinking cap and practiced once with it on the plate. Beauteous.

So here is the very final product of this nearly-24-hour journey:

 Perfect. It now looks like Hagrid from Harry Potter made it. (“Happee birthdae Mommy.” I’m looking at a screenshot of the cake right now. That’s how he misspelled it, I promise.)

You’d think you’d remember that icing is edible, even if it’s used on a practice plate. Yum… Frosting is the best. (Icing is frosting, right? Just used for writing? That sounds about right.)

I found the easiest way to write with icing is if you clench up both fists around the tube. (I suppose that’s why the pros do it.) Since my right hand is my writing hand, I preferred having that closer to the tip, to give off the feeling that I was writing with an ordinary pen. Like a child would with a crayon, at least. Then, stand directly above the pastry and begin. (I’m 4’11”, so you could imagine how childlike I looked, still standing on my tippy toes.)

By the way, always a good idea to tie your hair up. Not only when you’re baking, but with cooking as well. Don’t want to shed in your own food. You’d think it was common sense, but people shed unknowingly all the time, so they don’t think about it. You don’t have to go as far as using a hair net, just keep it back; make sure it stays up and out of the way.

Oh, and yes, I intended on dotting the “i” with a heart. Did that translate? At all?

I suppose that’s it for today. We’re going out for lunch and dinner, so not much cooking for me to do there. Except maybe applying more salt to my meal or something. And not even that counts. My work here is done.

Besides eating it, of course. Apart from “the frosting was way too sweet”, there were zero complaints. We spent the day with my older sister who said that red velvet cake was her favorite, which was why she was excited about dessert. All anyone could have was a single slice, because “the frosting was way too sweet.”

When she asked what made the red velvet red velvet, she guessed, “Food coloring?” I thought about all the ingredients and said, “Yeah, actually. That’s the only part of it that’s red.” Other than that, it was your typical cake–except probably more moist, which was intended–except red.

So I’d say this cake thing was a success! 🙂 Something to think about though is how to have the same texture for the frosting, but with less sugar. Is there a way to figure that out? There were two whole cups of powdered sugar. (Although I might have added a little more than that because I didn’t want to make a huge mess by flattening the mountain that formed in the measuring cup…yeah, that’s why there was so much. Let’s go with that.)

Overall, I think the biggest issue was probably the frosting. Instead of using butter, I substituted oil. Because of the slippery texture, it was difficult to cover the entire cake. Clumps kept sliding around; it was so annoying.

The second biggest mistake was forgetting to grease and flour the cake pan before pouring the leftover batter. I managed to save it though by putting it on top of the successful half (although in this case, it was more like the successful 2/3).

Before I officially sign off for the night, here are a couple of photos of what the cake ended up looking like on the inside:

One thought on “4/17/16

  1. Pingback: 8/11/16 | Chef's Delight

Leave a Reply

