5/7/16

PANCAAAAAAAKES!!!!!

I’d already made them before in home ec, back in middle school, but I didn’t think it’d be that…oh, what’s a better word for “intermediate”? HARD! I mean, they’re easy, but once you start cooking, that’s when crap goes down. I remembered that when the bubbles form on top of the batter while the first side is cooking, it means it’s ready to flip, but instead, the outside bubbled and by the time that happened, the edges were already slightly burned. I had to go against everything I had previously learned and make do with what I had to do.

As far as substitutions go, I didn’t do much except use cinnamon instead of nutmeg. I don’t know why, but when I see the word “nutmeg”, I see “cinnamon”. I figured, Hey, why not substitute it then? I still don’t know what nutmeg is for sure, but if it’s anything like cinnamon, yum… Cinnamon pancakes? Heavenly.

Also, the ingredients specifically say that the eggs and milk have to be “at room temperature”. Why does that matter? Is it bad if it’s cold? Is it some chemical thing?

 

Leave a Reply

