6/21/16

The first step towards figuring out what you want to do in life is job shadowing. Find a few people who can let you tag along and figure out what their typical day looks like. And why not? It’s a free chance to get a glimpse of the life you think you want to lead. That way, if it turns out that maybe there’s something else out there for you, so you want to keep looking, it’s not too late. You don’t need to go through the stress of quitting a job–or even worse, holding onto a job that makes you miserable because you still need to make a living, but suffer through never being happy with your life. That’s what I’m most afraid of anyway, which is why I’ve never been serious about which career path I want to take, till now. 

I looked into a few personal chefs around town and reached out to them via email. One entrepreneur responded and she wants to meet for coffee sometime, which I’m excited about. I’m not very good at coming up with questions, so I’m hoping she knows what I need to know more than I know what to ask for. So far, my only request is for her to explain what her typical day is like. Then maybe her prerequisites when she first joined that line of work. Suggestions she may have for me as I build up my culinary career. If it’s enough to make a full living off of for one person. What kind of benefits would I get. Wow, maybe I know more about what I DON’T know than I thought. 

And maybe she has an internship available for starters like me. I don’t know. Maybe that’s reaching out a bit, but I need a job somewhere, and I’m looking at places like Starbucks since serving coffee is probably a good start to a culinary career: it’s for beginners and being a regular there, I already have a good general idea how the system works purely based on observation. My biggest concern with working at the front is memorizing orders, really. Plus, I’m a very awkward person. I could mishear something and assume another, and then I end up having to remake the order. That is why I always ask confirmation questions to make sure I get it right, but that could get annoying. 

Then again, it could just be my brain: I haven’t really challenged it in order to feel competent enough to do this. Either way, I can’t live in the shadows of fear forever, right? 

Leave a Reply

