7/2/16

Proudest moment of my life: I totally BS’d dinner, and by BS’d, I mean I improvised the entire thing (not turned everything to crap). I was home alone for a little more than 24 hours, so I was in charge of my own dinner. I figured maybe I should use the rest of that pasta from the pesto cavatappi I made for two last time (whose recipe was for four people).

We’d run out of pesto a while back, which is where the improv kicked in. I recalled we had a bit of Prego left though so I thought that would be an interesting match even though the noodles weren’t spaghetti. I didn’t want to use a recipe because I really wanted to do this on my own. My predicament on what needed to be in the dish was heavily based on a mix of the pesto cavatappi and spaghetti recipes.

Let’s see if I can figure out what I did here. I had to handwrite it first, but here it is:

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup canola/olive oil (we use avocado oil)
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 large tomato (or two small tomatoes), diced
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1 cup milk (in substitution for heavy whipping cream?)
  • ~17 oz. or 1 lb. Prego Heart Smart Traditional Italian Sauce (1/4 of 67-oz. jar)
  • 8 oz. Cavatappi (I used De Cecco)

Instructions

  1. Boil noodles. While water is heating up, prep garlic and tomatoes.
  2. As noodles are boiling in salted water, put sauté pan on high heat and add oil.
  3. After a couple minutes, add garlic and tomatoes.
  4. When some of the tomato juice has evaporated, add white wine and milk.
  5. After stirring, let sit on medium-low heat. Pasta should be al dente by then.
  6. When dumping pasta water, rinse pasta with cold water to cool down. Set aside.
  7. Add pasta sauce and stir.
  8. When ready, add pasta and mix it all in. Add salt (preferably garlic salt) and pepper to taste.

As usual, the very final step is bon appétit! And the final cut looks like this:

Guess I’m set till lunch!

Of course, most of those details were approximations. For example, the white wine and milk? I just guessed how much I needed as opposed to how much I actually added. I might have to make a few tweaks next time I make this, but it should be a good start!

In my mind, I knew I could add more to it, just didn’t have it in the fridge or pantry, so I considered maybe ham or Spam at least (which I actually had…so why didn’t I add it?). I feel like I could’ve added spinach, and I was going to add it after the garlic instead of the tomatoes, but we didn’t have any. I knew I needed something else and, since I didn’t have any greens, tomatoes had to do.

If you are interested and decide to give it a try, please comment on your experience and tell me how it was! 🙂

2 thoughts on “7/2/16

  1. Pingback: 7/17/16 | Chef's Delight

Leave a Reply

